New Castle County Combined Boards of Education

Christina Board of Education - Workshop

The purpose of this workshop is for the Board to learn about topics of interest that may be presented at future Board of Education meetings. This meeting is being posted, because a quorum is expected to be present. No actions will be taken at this meeting.

AGENDA:

Friday, January 13, 2023

7:30 a.m.: Breakfast, Socialization 8:00 a.m.: Public Meeting In person: Hilton Wilmington/Christiana, 100 Continental Drive, Newark, DE 19713 Virtual: <u>bit.ly/3gMaepg</u>

Following a buffet breakfast provided for the presenter(s), School Board Members and their staff, the public session will commence at 8:00 a.m.*

The agenda is as follows:

- Welcome and Introductions by John Skrobot III President, Brandywine School District Board of Education.
 - » Host duties rotate between districts.
 - » Brandywine is serving as the host for the 2022-23 school year.
- A roundtable discussion on school safety and security.
 - » Attendees and invited panelists can participate in the discussion focused on current and future initiatives.
 - » Discussion topics and a complete list of speakers will be sent in January.
- Participating districts are invited to present an optional two-minute highlight or update on a matter of general interest.

The meeting will end whenever the discussion concludes. Because the individuals in attendance lack the authority to take action, there will be no motions to convene or adjourn the meeting.

*Attendees not affiliated with the Combined Boards will not be provided with a meal.

Mission: The New Castle County Combined Boards of Education is committed to promoting strong and effective public schools by working collaboratively with our member boards and other stakehoolder groups including the Department of Education, State Board of Education, elected officials and the public to identify and address emerging needs. Using our combined intellects and strengthened numbers, we seek to: influence statewide decision-making through educational outreach & lobbying activities; promote a positive image for Delaware's public schools; enhance inter-district communication; and promote the effective use of resources.



APPOQUINIMINK

SCHOOL DISTRICT Michelle Wall President Norm Abrams Nichelle DeWitt Richard Forsten, Esq. Kelly Wright

BRANDYWINE

SCHOOL DISTRICT John Skrobot III President Ralph Ackerman Karen Gordon Jason Heller Rev. Shanika Perry Kristin Pidgeon Kimberly Stock

CHRISTINA

SCHOOL DISTRICT Dr. Keeley Powell President Dr. Naveed Baqir Monica Moriak Dr. Claire O'Neal Donald Patton Frederick Polaski Alethea Smith-Tucker

COLONIAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

Joseph T. Laws President Robin Crossan Keenan Dorsey Ronald D. Handy, Sr. Christopher Piecuch, Sr. Richard Schiller Christine Smith Adrianna Hutton (Student)

NEW CASTLE COUNTY

VO-TECH SCHOOL DISTRICT

Yvette Santiago President Cheryl A. Dennis Hon. Robert F. Gilligan Hon. James Johnson Madeline Johnson Nello M. Paoli, Jr. Mark S. Stellini

RED CLAY CONSOLIDATED

SCHOOL DISTRICT Kecia Nesmith President Adriana Bohm Jason Casper Victor Leonard, Sr. Jose Matthews Catherine Thompson Martin Wilson, Sr.